Sherborne football tournament

On Wednesday 24th April, 7 schools from the Sherborne pyramid participated in a Y3/4 football tournament. Group A consisted of Sherborne Primary, St Mary's Bradford Abbas and Buckland Newton. Group B consisted of the host school Sherborne Abbey, Trent Young's, All Saints Bishops Caundle and Thornford.
Group A was very competitive  and had some very close matches. Eventually, Sherborne Primary won the group with Bradford Abbas as runners up. Group B was also tightly contested with Sherborne Abbey winning the group with Thornford as runners up, and Trent Youngs and Bishops Caundle coming 3rd and 4th respectively. 
The quarter final stage resulted in wins for Sherborne Primary, Sherborne Abbey, Bradford Abbas and Thornford, who all progressed to the Champions League section of the tournament, leaving Trent Young's, Bishops Caundle and Buckland Newton to contest the Europa League Trophy.
The Champions League Semi finals were very tightly contested with Sherborne Abbey beating Thornford 1-0 in the first semi final. The second semi final between Sherborne County and Bradford Abbas went all the way to penalties after neither team could find a breakthrough. Eventually, it would be Bradford Abbas who progressed to the final 3-2 on penalties. 
The Europa League Semi final resulted in Trent Youngs beating Bishops Caundle 2-0, and progressed to the final to play Buckland Newton. The Europa League final looked to be heading to extra time until Buckland Newton scored in the dying seconds to lift the Europa League Trophy.
The Champions League 3rd/4th place play off was very competitive, with Sherborne Abbey taking the bronze medals with a 1-0 win over Thornford. The final between the hosts Sherborne Abbey and Bradford Abbas also seemed to be heading for extra time with the 2 teams deadlocked at 0-0. This was until the final minute when Bradford Abbas scored twice to kill off the game and win the tournament 2-0.
Many congratulations to all the teams involved and a special congratulations to Bradford Abbas for winning the tournament.

Posted on April 30th 2019

Loading... Updating page...